wmbr phone or text: 617.253.8810
Listen to WMBR live!
Mon 12:53 PM : now playing:  Lost and Found 88.1 fm
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
staff only
The WMBR Noise/Experimental Music Concert Report

  • Friday, September 7:

  • Tuesday, September 11:
    • Non-Event presents: Tongue Depressor - Cafe Fixe, 7 pm

  • Thursday, September 13:
    • Frode / Lonberg-Holm Quartet with Frode, Fred Lonberg-Holm, Jeb Bishop, & Curt Newton - Outpost186, 8 pm
    • Unknown Results Performance Series presents: Michael Rosenstein and Jose Rivera - Aviary Gallery, 7-9 pm
    • Composers Forum: Matt Shumaker - MIT, Room 14E-109, 5pm

  • Friday, September 14:
    • Gang Gang Dance, & Deakin - 3S Artspace, Portsmouth, NH

  • Saturday, September 15:
    • Gang Gang Dance, & Deakin - Great Scott
    • Non-Event presents: Performance of Luke Martin's almost, & a piece for two people performing within Fujiko Nakaya's Fog x Beach sculpture - Jamaica Pond, 7:30 am to 7:30 pm, free!
    • Sonorium presents: Marcia Custer, Machine Listener, Matt Weston / Adam Bosse / Alex Pelchat, & Margery Kempe - Gallows Hill Theatre, Salem, 8 pm

  • Sunday, September 16:
    • Standing Waves #15: Teodora Stepancic - MIT Press Bookstore, 4 pm
    • EVICSHEN (Victoria Shen), Marcia Custer, Machine Listener, & KARL - Dorchester Art Project, 8 pm

Coming Up...

  • Tuesday, September 18:
    • Tomuntonttu, Eric Arn, & Obliquity - The Root Cellar, Greenfield, 8 pm

  • Wednesday, September 19:
    • Grouper - Arts at the Armory, 7:30 pm
    • Dog Lady Island, Dominic Coppola, Isolde Touch, House Red, & Chuck Al - Machines with Magnets, Pawtucket, 9 pm, more info

  • Thursday, September 20:

  • Saturday, September 22:
    • Phantom Erratic #15 featuring Scyele, Nurse Betty, & Glochids - The Root Cellar, Greenfield, 9 pm

  • Sunday, September 23:
    • Non-Event presents: Reidemeister Move, & Mike Bullock - School of the Museum of Fine Arts, Anderson Hall, 8 pm
    • Boston Hassle presents: Mark Hosler of Negativland, Power Slut, & Baylies Band - Dorchester Art Project, 8 pm
    • Father Murphy, Hypnagogue, & Ivory Glass Towers - Deep Thoughts, Jamaica Plain, 8 pm
    • Together Boston presents: Floorplan (Robert Hood and Lyric Hood), & Lenore - Middlesex Lounge, 4 pm

  • Thursday, September 27:

  • Saturday, September 29:
    • Trad, Gras Och Stenar, & Endless Boogie - The Root Cellar, Greenfield, 8 pm
    • Mark Hosler of Negativland, MiniBeast, Laurie Amat, & Snowbeasts - AS220, Providence

  • Sunday, October 7:
    • HERON at Fog x FLO: An art / sound performance by Sara June and Max Lord in Fujiko Nakaya’s large-scale fog sculptures - Leverett Pond, Brookline, 4:30-5:30 pm
    • Music for Ground and Atmosphere at Fog x Hill: Ben Cosgrove performs music in response to Fujiko Nakaya’s large-scale fog sculptures - Arnold Arboretum, 5-5:45 pm

  • Tuesday, October 9:
    • Non-Event presents: Oren Ambarchi / Will Guthrie, & Retribution Body - SMFA Anderson Hall, 8 pm

  • Wednesday, October 10:
    • Charalambides, Wet Tuna, & Joshua Burkett - The Root Cellar, Greenfield, 8 pm

  • Friday, October 12:
    • Non-Event presents: Richard Chartier, & Victoria Shen - Boston City Hall, 8 pm, free, RSVP here

  • Saturday, October 13:

  • Tuesday, October 16:
    • Non-Event presents: Bill T Miller - Cafe Fixe, 7 pm

  • Thursday, October 18:
    • Non-Event presents: Eva-Maria Houben - New England Conservatory, Brown Hall, 8 pm, free!

  • Saturday, October 20:
    • Non-Event presents: Asha Tamarisa performs Piece for Fog Space - Fog x Island site, Leverett Pond / Olmsted Park, Brookline, 3-4 pm, free!
    • Toby Driver (of Kayo Dot) - Machines with Machines, Pawtucket, 7 pm, more info

  • Friday, October 26:

  • Saturday, October 27:
    • Garcia Peoples, Matt Valentine, & Spectre Folk - The Root Cellar, 9 pm

  • Monday, October 29:
    • Non-Event presents: Meridian and Brittany Karlson - The Yard (John Hancock Tower), 8 pm

  • Sunday, November 4:
    • Thurston Moore presents New Noise Guitar Explorations - The Root Cellar, 8 pm

  • Tuesday, November 6:
    • Exploded View, & Forma - Middle East Upstairs

  • Thursday, November 8:
    • The Body / Uniform, & Author and Punisher - Middle East Upstairs

  • Tuesday, November 13:
    • Non-Event presents: Hollow Deck - Cafe Fixe, 7 pm

  • Wednesday, November 14:
    • Non-Event presents: Christian Wolff, & Ordinary Affects - New England Conservatory, Pierce Hall, 8 pm

  • Sunday, November 25:
    • Claudio Simonetti's Goblin performs a live score for the film Suspiria - Coolidge Corner Theatre, 9 pm

  • Wednesday, February 28:
    • The music of Klaus Lang featuring Yarn/Wire and Sound Icon - Boston ICA, 8 pm

Please Note:
  • Addresses of many Boston area clubs can be found here.
  • Local bands are only listed the week of the show.
  • Additions, changes and corrections for rock/pop/punk shows only can be made by writing to: rock-listings email address
  • To submit announcement about upcoming roots/americana/blues/cajun/zydeco shows, please use the address: roots-listings email address
  • To submit announcement about upcoming Jazz shows, please use the address: jazz-listings email address
  • To submit announcement about upcoming World Music shows, please use the address: world-listings email address
  • To submit announcement about Any Other music shows, please use the address: other-listings email address
Massachvsetts Institvte of Technology ® WMBR is a registered servicemark of the Technology Broadcasting Corporation.  Contact WMBR